Widgets

I then edited all the widgets on my page as many were there by default, I only kept relevant ones like the search widget, the category widget and the follow my blog widget. I decided to keep these widgets on my blog because I felt it was important to make the website easy to navigate. For example if someone was looking for a post they can easily search for it at the top of the page. I made sure I had a static home page because this was the first page I wanted people to see.

To edit Widgets you can go to the sidebar and select appearance. Here there will be a list of widgets that you can add to your website. I personally didn’t like the look of widgets on my website as I felt this made it look more like a blog.

I viewed my website and realised the widget in the footer area called categories made the page look untidy as seen in the picture above so I changed it to a drop down bar instead.

WHAT IS A WIDGET

widgetboxscreenThe word widget is a term for self-contained code that displays a program, or a piece of a program, that is usually a shortcut to a larger application. The most common place for a widget area is a sidebar.

Leave a Reply

