Top Level Domain (TLD)


Top-level domain (TLD) “is the last segment of a domain name, or the part that follows immediately after the “dot” symbol. TLDs are mainly put into two categories: generic TLDs and country-specific TLDs. The Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN), is the organization that coordinates domains and IP addresses for the internet.”

A top-level domain recognizes an its objective (business, government, education), its owner, or the geographical area from which it originated.

ICANN recognizes the following types of TLDs:

  • Generic Top-Level Domains (gTLD): These are the most popular types of TDLs. For example, “.edu” for educational sites and .”com” for commercial sites. These types of TLDs are available for registration.
  • Country-Code Top-Level Domains (ccTLD): Every ccTLD recognizes a specific country and is generally two letters long. For example, the ccTLD for Australia is “.au”.

Some of the TLDs and their explanations are as follows:

  • .com – Commercial businesses
  • .org – Organizations (generally charitable)
  • .net – Network organizations
  • .gov – government agencies
  • .mil – Military
  • .edu – Educational facilities like universities
  • .uk – United Kingdom
  • .th – Thailand
  • .ca – Canada
  • .au – Australia



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s