Domain Name Registration

Having a domain name means If you ever change your web host, your domain name will stay with you. People that know your site name would not have to be informed about a change of web address (URL). They would simply type your domain name and they’d be brought to your new site.

How to register a domain name

Choose a service to host the website.

  • E.g. Register.com, GoDaddy.com, OnlyDomains.com and eNom.com.
  • The hosting services all work with the ICANN database, which is in charge of keeping track of all domain names.
  • These sites will all have an availability checker, where you type in the domain name you want and they tell you if it’s available or suggest alternatives if it isn’t.
  • They will then ask for information from you. This is necessary to register with the WHOIS database, where the owners of websites are required to list their information.
  • Websites aren’t free unless you use the hosts name in your URL E.g. digicomhowto.wordpress.com. The hosts name is WordPress so if I was to use digicomhowto.com I would have to pay a subscription fee.
  • After you’ve set everything up you will have to enter your payment information

How I registered my domain name. 

screen-shot-2017-01-17-at-15-55-54To begin I went to the WordPress site and created an account where I then had to create a unique URL that hadn’t been used before. I chose digicomhowto.wordpress.com. Because I have used wordpress.com I didn’t have to pay a subscription fee because I’m using their name in my URL and I also get the basic set up of WordPress. If I wanted to have more advanced features on my website, then I would have to pay a subscription fee. I decided to choose digicomhowto because our assignment is Using Digital communication to develop a website. I then had to confirm my email address.

Leave a Reply

